Leading the Way in Policy and Advocacy

MN Capitol BuildingOur policy and advocacy work are a hallmark of our association. We’re proud of the government affairs leadership we provide in shaping the hospitality industry at the local, state and federal levels. It is your commitment to two actions that have helped us build a strong government relations program – your on-going member investment and using your voice.

2022 is shaping up to be a swift-moving year at the state legislature, with both challenges and opportunities on the docket. Add in an election year affected by redistricting and things get really interesting.

Read on to get familiar with the building blocks of our government relations work, so that you can be prepared to take action on the issues that matter most to your business. You’ll find:
— Legislative Agenda
— Legislative Deadlines
— Legislative Leadership and Key Committee Chairs
— Legislative Engagement and Days at the Capitol
— Advocacy Group
— Redistricting

Legislative Agenda Minnesota has the only divided legislature in the country and is currently undergoing redistricting.  Every legislator and constitutional officer will be on the ballot in the election next fall.  While this is not a “budget” year and the state technically does not have to pass spending bills, legislators are in the unique position of having a $7.7B surplus and an additional $1B in federal funding available to aid in pandemic recovery.

Our December Economic Snapshot indicates that the economic recovery remains extremely fragile for our industry.  Concerns about workforce shortage, COVID-driven debt, inflation, supply chain challenges, and proposed new costs for businesses threaten to dampen the pace and depth of the economic rebound.  Our 2022 Legislative Agenda is built around this data and two principles:

  1. Operators are not in a position to take on new cost burdens from the State in 2022; and
  2. The recovery of the industry and the economy would be hastened by economic stimulus.

Review the 2022 Legislative Agenda

Legislative Deadlines  Each year the leadership of the House and Senate agree on committee deadlines. This year they are:
— 1st Deadline | March 25, 2022 | For committees to act favorably on bills in the originating body.
— 2nd Deadline | April 1, 2022 | For committees to act favorably on bills, or companion bills, that met the first deadline in the other body.
— 3rd Deadline | April 8, 2022 | For committees to act favorably on major appropriation and finance bills.

Learn more

Legislative Leadership and Key Committee Chairs In addition to contacting your own representative and senator, plan on reaching out the leadership and key committee chairs to urge their support on our issues. They are:
— Senate Majority Leader Jeremy Miller  | sen.jeremy.miller@senate.mn | (651) 296-5649
— Senate Minority Leader Melisa Lopez Franzen | sen.melisa.lopez.franzen@senate.mn | (651) 296-6238
— Speaker of the House Melissa Hortman | rep.melissa.hortman@house.mn | (651) 296-4280
— House Minority Leader Kurt Daudt | rep.kurt.daudt@house.mn | (651) 296-5364
— Senate Finance Chair Julie Rosen | sen.julie.rosen@senate.mn | (651) 296-5713
— House Ways and Means Chair Rena Moran | rep.rena.moran@house.mn | (651) 296-5158
— Senate Tax Chair Carla Nelson | sen.carla.nelson@senate.mn | (651) 296-4848
— House Tax Chair Paul Marquart | rep.paul.marquart@house.mn | (651) 296-6829
— Senate Jobs Chair Eric Pratt | sen.eric.pratt@senate.mn | (651) 296-4123
— House Workforce Chair Mohamud Noor | rep.mohamud.noor@house.mn | (651) 296-4257

Find your elected officials

Legislative Engagement and Days at the Capitol  Prior to COVID, we reimagined our traditional “day at the Capitol” to occur over multiple days, scheduled over several weeks. Using this strategy, we brought smaller, tactical groups of 20-25 members to meet directly with legislators and leaders, and we got a lot of great feedback. Members reported having meaningful and strategic conversations that helped build and deepen relationships with key policy makers.  We found, too, that meeting over several days created a drumbeat of awareness and interest in our industry’s issues and allowed operators flexibility in participation.

This year, we’re focusing our efforts meeting with key chairs, policy makers and thought leaders, going to bat for the interests of the industry.  We have meeting requests in for all the leadership and key committee chairs (see above).

In addition, we are providing members with timely key intel and grassroots engagement opportunities.  If you are interested in scheduling a meeting with the legislators representing your home and our business district on top of these other opportunities, we can help. Given that many legislators and committees are still meeting virtually as well as the operational and resource challenges facing many of our operators, we’re not scheduling group meetings at the Capitol.  If you would like help scheduling a meeting with your representative or senator, we can help.

Contact ben@hospitalitymn.com

Advocacy Group  Join Ben Wogsland and our Government Relations team for a monthly conversation on the current policy issues and legislation facing your business. The Advocacy Group meets on the 3rd Thursday of the month, via conference call. Group members help shape Hospitality Minnesota’s policy and advocacy work at the local, state and federal levels.

​Submit the form below to receive meeting notices; type “Join” in the comment field.

​Howard Anderson  |  ZMC Hotels
David Benowitz  |  Craft and Crew Hospitality
Tony Boen  |  Grandma’s Restaurant Company
Paul Bugbee  |  Bug-Bee Hive
Bonnie Carlson  |  Bloomington Convention and Visitors Bureau
Rollie Carlson  |  Upper Midwest CMAA Chapter
Luke Derheim  |  Craft and Crew Hospitality
Erik Forsberg  |  Forsberg Restaurants
Bill Foussard  |  Best Western Plus-White Bear Country Inn
Brent Frederick  |  Jester Concepts
John Fredrikson  |  Gunflint Lodge and Outfitters
Robb Hall  |  Sherman and Associates
Bryan Harris  |  Eagle Nest Lodge
JJ Haywood  |  Pizza Lucé
Doug Karle  |  LHR Hospitality
Tom Kavanaugh  |  Kavanaugh’s Sylvan Lake Resort
DJ Larson  |  Minnesota State Fair
Nick Leonard  |  East Silent Resort
Pete Mihajlov  |  Parasole Restaurant Holdings
Tom Nesheim  |  Clive’s Roadhouse Restaurants LLC
Abbey Pieper  |  Madden’s on Gull Lake
Stephanie Laitala-Rupp  |  Commonwealth Companies
Ron Rykken  |  Timber Bay Lodge and Houseboats
Kirk Schultz  |  Odyssey Resorts, Madison Hospitality Group
Robbie Soskin  |  yum! Kitchen and Bakery
Ian Tolleson  |  McDonald’s Corporation
Maria Veach  |  Culver’s Laudeda Enterprises, LLC
John Yeadon  |  Hyatt Regency Minneapolis
Redistricting  Every ten years, congressional and legislative districts are redrawn on the basis of the most recent Census. In June, 2021 the Minnesota Supreme Court appointed a Special Redistricting Panel to draw Minnesota’s district maps. The Panel has released their maps today, February 15.
- Advertisement -